KU's iconic Fraser Hall

About KU

In 1866, the University of Kansas welcomed the first class of 55 students to an unfinished building on a treeless ridge called Mount Oread.

Today, our enrollment sits at 28,500. From that single building, we have grown to five campuses — the Lawrence campus, the Edwards Campus in Overland Park, and medical branches in Kansas City, Wichita, and Salina. The once barren landscape has grown into a wooded campus considered one of the most beautiful in the nation.

We embrace our role as the state’s flagship university and a premier research institution, serving the state, nation, and world. We celebrate the energy and compassion that infuse the Jayhawk spirit. And we remain true to our historic values: the elevating force of education, the transformative power of research, and the healing power of service.

Our Mission

Quick Facts

Lawrence, Kansas

Main campus location



KU's mascot, the Jayhawk



KU's Alma Mater

Crimson and the Blue

Alma Mater (and school colors)

Lawrence's historic Massachusetts Street

About Lawrence

Lawrence, a progressive city of about 90,000 in northeast Kansas, consistently rates as a Top 10 town for its college life, sports, arts, and live music scene.


KU has five campuses and several online programs.